Fines for texting & driving in Mississippi are about to quadruple. Fines under the law approved by Gov. Phil Bryant in March of 2015 began at $25 but will increase to $100 on July 1. Although ticketing to date reportedly has been light, the increased revenues may provide more incentives for law agencies to penalize distracted drivers.
Mississippi’s statewide distracted driving law continues to allow use of cell phones by drivers.