Hear the mayoral candidates on Catchy Friday.

Join MCDP on Friday, April 28th for our monthly membership breakfast, Catchy Friday!  The City of Columbia’s Mayoral Candidates will be our program speakers.  We will meet in the Business Plex-Community Room, 1730 Highway 44, Columbia at 7:45 a.m. Bring a guest, bring your business cards, and get informed! Sponsored this month by Citizens Bank.

Tri-County Final Municipal Candidates

These are the final qualified candidates running for mayor in the municipal elections in the Tri-County this summer. MARION COUNTY: Mayor: Justin McKenzie (R), Reed Houston (R), Harry Griffith (R), Scope Newsome (D), Glenn McKenzie (D) Alderman Ward 1: Wendell Hammond Alderman Ward 2: Jason Stringer, Tyler L. Berry, Robert …Read More

Jefferson Davis County Sports in Jeopardy

There will be a rally held by the Jefferson Davis County School Preservation Action Group at the Superintendent of Education office in Prentiss on Monday, November 14th at 4:00pm. The Superintendent and the School Board have been sued by the JDC School Preservation Action Group, through three of its’ members, …Read More

Local Election Results from Lawrence County

Unofficial Report: 3rd Congressional District  Gregg Harper  3,697 Dennis Quinn  1,688   Election Commissioner District 1  Ken Bellande 536 Sammie Henry 590 Election Commissioner District 2 Pamela J. Douglas 647 Nellie M. Smith 172 Laura K. Young 429 School Board District 1 Dr. Mark Herbert 870 Jessica Rogers 306 School …Read More

Local Election Results from Jefferson Davis County

Unofficial Report: 3rd Congressional District Gregg Harper     2,760 Dennis Quinn     2,990   Supreme Court District 02 Dawn Beam               2,885 Michael Shareef        2,134   Election Commissioner District 01 Linda Speights     924   Election Commissioner District …Read More

Election Results from Marion County

All 22 precincts reporting with absentee votes included. Unofficial Report   4th Congressional District Steven Palazzo     166,238 Mark Gladney        77,651   Tax Assessor Collector Teresa Terrell     3,409 Alisha Watts       2,599 Baxter I. White Jr.    2,182 Deanna Martino     876 Chris Jones             797   County School Board  1 Richard Culliver     1,060   …Read More